Planning

plan-a-or-b-290x220A few days ago I posted about the elaborate plans I had for my life after marriage, and how those plans did not pan out in that exact manner. For example, I found myself pregnant before the wedding which was definitely not part of the plan. You can find that post here Anyway, this got me thinking about the issue of making plans and what the bible has to say.

James 4:13-15King James Version (KJV)

13 Go to now, ye that say, To day or to morrow we will go into such a city, and continue there a year, and buy and sell, and get gain:14 Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.5 For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.

I realize now that I made plans which did not involve God. I was one of those part time Christians who did not fully involve God in every area of my life, and drifted in an out of sin as it pleased me. According to me, I could make plans and execute them and did not make room for counsel from the Holy Spirit. This scripture in James is talking about exactly who I was then! I trusted in my own abilities more than in the God who enables the abilities. As long as my then fiance and I loved each other, we could just get married and have babies and live happily ever after.

There is enough evidence in the bible that says we must plan and prepare, so I am by no means saying that we should be happy go lucky people who never plan our lives, that would be a disaster lol! Afterall the bible says in Proverbs 6:6-8King James Version (KJV)

6 Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:7 Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler,8 Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.

I think that we must not plan with arrogance. Our arrogance says, “I will plan and do it all by myself, I am good enough”but humility says, “I will not even plan before consulting with God, and as I plan, God will direct my steps, and I will fully commit the plans to Him!” When we pray “Thy will be done”, it must apply to every area of our lives! Thy will be done in my career, thy will be done in my marriage, thy will be done in my studies, thy will be done in everything that I set my mind to do!

I find that I still fail at this, but everyday I am committed to try my very best to make God be the center of it all as the song says. Sometimes I may make plans with all the best intentions, that seem to be great plans, but if I am arrogant and self reliant, and forgetting that God should direct my paths, then I could very easily fall flat on myself – and I have fallen a few times (or maybe a lot of times lol) What has been your experience with planning without God?

Thanks for reading and following the blog – keep watching out for new content! God bless – Zwi

2 thoughts on “Planning

  1. I can totally relate to this post, sometimes i make plans that do not materialize and wonder why, well i got the answer.Nothing that’s not committed to God will be fruitful for the bible says in Jeremiah 29v11 “for i know the plans i have for you….”God knows the plans for us and the the right time to fullfill them but well i guess i just need to be patient and wait for God’s time…i also found myself preg before the wedding which was not part of the plan but i smile everytime i look at my bundle of joy, my biggest gift from God…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

