The beginning

Many are the plans in our hearts.png

My husband and I were very young when we got married. It was a beautiful love story. We met in high school and I could not imagine not being with him. I knew very early that we were going to get married.

We discussed our future in detail before we got married and had so many elaborate plans, and it was very clear that both of us wanted to immediately start a family. My biggest wish was to have a little girl. Khu did not really mind, but he leaned towards the girl because he wanted me to be happy. We were gonna name her Natasha, and Khu said it would be spelt “Natasja” because we were young and thought we were cool like that lol! Even as I write, I smile thinking about it. Her second name would be Nombulelo… It sounded like the most beautiful name to my ears!

It was my dream to get married and have children and spend the rest of my life with the person I love. And boy did I love him. Sometimes we reminisce about those days and we laugh so hard at the stuff we did because of love. At some point I temporarily moved to Botswana and he took it upon himself to learn Tswana just to impress me❤️we were whipped!

The plan for our family was pretty much set up. We both wanted two children, we loved each other deeply, we were committed to spending our lives together….perfect right?

In October of 2001, his family sent a delegation to mine. Lobola negotiations were done, and what a difficult period it was for us! We had to deal with family drama and it drained us, yet we were over the moon that the process of marriage had started.

I got pregnant soon after that, and the joy we felt could not be expressed in words. I had really wanted to be legally married, white wedding and all before having children so this was a real spanner in the works, but we had so much joy knowing that we were about to be parents.

I look forward to sharing the rest of the journey with you over the next couple of months. Look out for the next post soon, and in the meantime, feel free to leave a comment, and also check out the other posts on the blog….God Bless, Zwi

5 thoughts on “The beginning

  1. I can’t wait to read the rest. I might have an idea of the basics but putting pen on paper brings out the story to life. You a great write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

