Lingering while destruction approaches

Genesis 19 v 15 – 16 (NKJV)

15 When the morning dawned, the angels urged Lot to hurry, saying, “Arise, take your wife and your two daughters who are here, lest you be consumed in the punishment of the city.” 16 And while he lingered, the men took hold of his hand, his wife’s hand, and the hands of his two daughters, the Lord being merciful to him, and they brought him out and set him outside the city.

danger

I have not shared anything here in 3 weeks, and it’s mainly due to the crazy end of year schedule which I have. However, during my quiet time this morning, this scripture in Genesis 19 really caught my eye. It’s the story of Lot, which most of us know very well.

I am struck by how even after receiving warnings, Lot still lingered (some versions say hesitated) and did not leave the danger zone that was Sodom immediately! I mean, he should have run for safety right? Yet he lingered, like most of us do when faced with danger. God tells us to leave that relationship, but we linger. He tells us to let go of those negative emotions, but we linger. He warns us about certain behavior, yet we linger!

But the next verse struck me even more….the angels took hold of Lot’s hand (and the hands of wife and daughters) and brought them out of Sodom, because God showed the MERCY. When I read it this morning, I said Lord, may you always show me your mercy. I know I have at times lingered at undesirable places, so the only explanation for how I made it is God’s mercy. His mercy that endures forever, which does not depend on my works.

May the God of mercy be with us today and for the rest of our days. May he enable us to identify potential “Sodoms”in our lives, and to not linger there.

Have a great day and great week friends 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

