Choose to pray and not retaliate

Luke 6 v 27 – 28 – 27 This is what I say to all who will listen to me: Love your enemies, and be good to everyone who hates you. 28 Ask God to bless anyone who curses you, and pray for everyone who is cruel to you. 29 If someone slaps you on one cheek, don’t stop that person from slapping you on the other cheek. If someone wants to take your coat, don’t try to keep back your shirt.

What a difficult principle to follow! How does one even open their mouth and begin to pray for those that hurt them? It’s surely easier said than done. When we are hurt, we tend to carry it around and let it burden us and affect our spiritual lives. In fact, when someone is cruel to me, my first gut reaction is to be cruel back, which is disobedience to what God expects of me.

Today I am faced with a situation whereby someone who hurt me recently is going through a tough time. I am glad to say that my first reaction was to pray for them to go through their trying period with peace, and for God to give them the grace to deal with the situation. I could laugh and gloat at their pain and embarrassment, but  what would I gain? Am I not better off obeying God and praying for those who have been cruel to me? In addition, the word of God says we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, and therefore however I have been hurt, I must always remember that there is a spirit behind the attacks and I must wrestle the spirit and not the person who seemingly persecuted me.

All this walks hand in hand with forgiveness, as the Lord’s prayer puts it…”Forgive use our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us” Failure to forgive means failure to pray for the person. I choose forgiveness today, I choose obedience, I choose to be a mature christian and not remain a spiritual baby.

Have you forgiven your enemies today? Have you prayed for those who persecute you? If you do not forgive, just know that it is the same as drinking poison and hoping the other person will die.

2 thoughts on “Choose to pray and not retaliate

Leave a Reply

