It is well with my soul

Habakkuk Rejoices
17Though the fig tree should not blossom And there be no fruit on the vines, Though the yield of the olive should fail And the fields produce no food, Though the flock should be cut off from the fold And there be no cattle in the stalls,18Yet I will exult in the LORD, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.

This morning I had a minor setback in a battle I am currently fighting. But guess what, I did not panic or start crying as I would have maybe a year ago! Instead, I told myself that God will never leave me or forsake me, the battle is his.

It is very easy at times to wallow in sorrow and forget that nothing is impossible with God. Whatever situation you may be faced with today, keep your focus on God and do not be moved by physical evidence. Just know that the battle is spiritual and so use the spiritual weapons (I will write about these in future)

The lyrics to the hymn “It is well with my soul”are such an amazing encouragement. Notice how the 3rd line says “Thou hast taught me to know”, this is the original song and we now sing “Thou hast taught me to say”. I believe the original word (know) is more powerful than the revised (say) This is because it is easy to just say things which we do not believe, and offer lip service. However if our hearts “know” (to perceive or understand as fact or truth; to apprehend clearly and with certainty, to have established or fixed in the mind or memory) – then when we say it is well, we fully understand clearly the implications. We truly believe in our hearts that it is indeed well, and not just empty words! 

The song is a declaration that even if troubles come, it is well with my soul, even when the devil attacks, it is well with my soul, even when there is no bread on the table, IT IS WELL WITH MY SOUL. Like Habakkuk, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation no matter the situation. That is my prayer for myself and for anyone else who is going through challenges this morning.

It Is Well With My Soul
(Original lyrics) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It_Is_Well_with_My_Soul)

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to know,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well, (it is well),
With my soul, (with my soul)
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life,
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul.

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
A song in the night, oh my soul!

Leave a Reply

